Quick Links



Sign Up to our
Updates & Specials

Register Now

Officials
Visitors'
Guide

Request a copy or download


Contact Details

Visitors Centre: Cnr Alma and Nolan Streets, Maryborough VIC 3465. Phone: 03 5460 4511. visitorinfo@cgoldshire.vic.gov.au

  

Welcome to Moliagul

Moliagul


Moliagul has a timeless feel about it. The Mt Moliagul Hotel, stone Church of England, Mechanic Institute, State School and general store are a legacy of past wealth and prosperity.


The Moliagul Historic Reserve 2km south-west of the township features a granite obelisk erected in 1897 to mark the ‘Welcome Stranger’ discovery site.

The ‘Welcome Stranger Discovery Walk’ takes you to the ruins of Deason’s Hut, a puddling machine and through the remains of a Chinese Camp.

A picnic ground with shelter, drinking water and barbeques is located near the car park and information board.

Mt Moliagul dominates the surrounding plains. A gravel road winds up to a fire lookout where there are spectacular views.

Another notable son of Moliagul was the Reverend John Flynn born in 1880, the founder of the Flying Doctor service. A memorial is dedicated to him in the centre of town.


View Larger Map